斯蒂芬·布雷耶,主席

美国最高法院大法官斯蒂芬·布雷耶自2011年起成为普利兹克建筑奖评委,目前担任主席。他1938年出生于旧金山,先后毕业于斯坦福大学、牛津大学和哈佛法学院。在法律界赫赫有名,取得了杰出的成就。

斯蒂芬·布雷耶在艺术与建筑方面也有很深的造诣。他曾经在2006年为名为“庆祝法院:对建筑师、他们的客户和公众指南”一书撰写序言。2009年,美国海外大使馆艺术保护基金会授予他以基金会发起人命名的第一Leonore 和 Walter H. Annenberg艺术与外交奖。

安德烈·阿拉尼亚·科雷亚·杜·拉戈

科雷亚·杜·拉戈从1983年开始了他的外交官职业生涯,目前担任巴西驻日本的大使。他之前在世界各地的巴西大使馆就职,包括马德里、布拉格、华盛顿特区、布宜诺斯艾利斯以及布鲁塞尔的欧盟总部巴西代表处。

他是一位著名的建筑评论家和策展人。策展的项目包括2014年威尼斯双年展巴西场馆、2013年圣保罗Tomie Ohtake 学院举办的“著名摄影师眼中的巴西建筑”以及 “依然现代?巴西建筑 1928-2005” 等展览。

科雷亚·杜·拉戈同时担任当现代艺术博物馆的国际理事成员、奥斯卡·尼迈耶基金会的理事成员。他的著作包括2005年与Lauro Cavalanti联合撰写的《依然现代?巴西当代建筑》、2009年Bei Editora出版《奥斯卡·尼迈耶Oscar Niemeyer:建筑的诱惑》、 2014年出版的《著名摄影师眼中的巴西建筑》等,并在许多传统媒体和线上刊物发表了大量文章。

理查德·罗杰斯

理查德·罗杰斯,2007年普利兹克建筑奖得主。他是“通过建筑设计和城市规划营造宜居城市、提升公共空间并改善环境”这一理念的首要倡导者。理查德·罗杰斯的事务所——罗杰斯-斯特克-哈勃合伙人事务所(前身为理查德·罗杰斯合伙人事务所)1977年始建于伦敦,目前在悉尼和上海设有办事处。它最负盛名的先锋建筑包括蓬皮杜中心(与伦佐·皮亚诺共同设计)、劳埃德总部大厦、法国斯特拉斯堡的欧洲人权法院以及伦敦的千年穹顶。

事务所曾为伦敦、里斯本、柏林、纽约和上海等城市设计总体规划。目前该事务所正参与大巴黎项目,着眼于将城市变成更加一体化的大都市区,以应对21世纪的社会和环境挑战。

罗杰斯还曾荣获1985年RIBA金奖、1999年的托马斯·杰弗逊纪念基金会奖、2000年日本皇室世界文化奖(Praemium Imperiale Awards)以及2006年威尼斯双年展金狮终身成就奖。他1986年被授予法国荣誉勋位勋章,1991年获封爵士,1996年成为终身贵族,2008年获封名誉勋爵。

妹岛和世

妹岛和世,出生于日本茨城县,2010年与西泽立卫共同获得普利兹克建筑奖。他们联合创立了SANAA建筑师事务所,公司于1995年开业,总部设在东京。妹岛在米兰理工大学、维也纳应用艺术大学、东京庆应义塾大学、横滨建筑研究生院(Y-GSA)担任教授,并在东京日本女子大学担任客座教授。

1981年妹岛和世在日本女子大学完成了建筑课程学习后,加入了伊东丰雄(2013年普利兹克奖得主)的事务所,并于1987年在东京开创了妹岛和世建筑师事务所。1992年妹岛被日本建筑家协会评为年度青年建筑师,又于2010年被任命为第12届威尼斯建筑双年展总监。她还曾在普林斯顿大学和洛桑理工学院等多个机构担任教职。

她本人的作品包括梅园之家(日本东京)和犬岛艺术之家(日本冈山)。SANAA的知名设计作品包括21世纪当代艺术博物馆(日本金泽)、劳力士学习中心(洛桑联邦理工学院)、卢浮宫朗斯分馆和格雷斯农场(新迦南)。

本妮德塔·塔利亚布

本妮德塔·塔利亚布,西班牙巴塞罗那人,著名国际建筑事务所“EMBT米拉莱斯-塔利亚布”的董事,该机构于1994年由她本人与安瑞科·米拉莱斯联合成立,总部初设于巴塞罗那,2010年以后迁往上海。她最出名的建造项目包括爱丁堡的的苏格兰议会、Diagonal Mar公园、巴塞罗那圣卡塔林纳市场、德维哥大学校园和2010年上海世博会西班牙馆。

塔利亚布富于诗意的建筑设计时刻关注其所处的环境,并且屡次荣获公共空间和设计领域的国际大奖,其中包括2005年英国皇家建筑师学会斯特林奖,2006年西班牙国家奖,2002年加泰罗尼亚国家奖。塔利亚布生于意大利,曾在威尼斯建筑学院(IUAV)学习建筑学。她坚持广泛讲学,并担任安瑞科·米拉莱斯基金会董事,该机构旨在秉承她已故丈夫兼合伙人安瑞科·米拉莱斯的精神,促进实验建筑学的发展。

拉丹·塔塔

拉丹·塔塔来自印度孟买,塔塔集团控股公司塔塔之子公司的荣誉主席。他自1991年起一直担任该公司的主席职位,直至2012年退休。在他的领导下,塔塔之子公司转变成为集团的智囊团,推动高新技术领域中的发展。塔塔也是美国铝业公司董事会成员,同时也是三菱公司、摩根大通、劳斯莱斯、淡马锡控股公司及新加坡金融管理局国际咨询理事会的成员。此外,他还是于美国南加州大学和康奈尔大学董事会成员。

塔塔于1962年获得了康奈尔大学颁发的建筑学学士学位,并于1975年在哈佛商学院完成了高级管理学课程。塔塔是印度两家最大慈善信托基金会的主席,并由于他在慈善方面的贡献,在国际上屡获殊荣。通过塔塔集团旗下的教育与发展信托公司,他在康奈尔大学设立了—项2500万美元的基金以资助来自印度的本科毕业生完成其在建筑、艺术及规划等领域的学习。

王澍

2012年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者,目前担任位于杭州的中国美术学院建筑艺术学院院长及业余建筑工作室的联合创始人 ,他与合伙人及妻子陆文宇于1997年创立了这个工作室。

王澍的作品将文化传统、手工技艺以及随性的元素进行巧妙的结合。他们的理念非常独特,将对传统的解读、实验性的建筑手法和详细的研究相结合,明确了业余建筑工作室的项目理念。

2010年他与妻子陆文宇共同获得德国谢林建筑奖,并于2011年获得法国建筑学院的金奖。

玛莎·索恩 (常务理事)

玛莎·索恩自2005年至今担任普利兹克建筑奖评审委员会常务理事,她与评审团密切合作,但是在评审过程中不参与投票。目前她担任马德里IE建筑学院院长。

1996年至2005年,她曾在芝加哥艺术学院建筑系担任副主任。她是《普利兹克建筑奖:最初二十年》等书的编辑和作者,也是建筑业杂志和百科全书里许多文章的作者。索恩从宾夕法尼亚大学获得了城市规划硕士学位,从纽约州立大学布布法罗分校获得城市事务文学士,她还在伦敦政治经济学院从事过其它方面的研究工作。

历任评委

约翰·卡特·布朗1979-2002(主席)
华盛顿特区美国国家艺术馆馆长
 

肯尼斯·克拉克爵士, 1979-1982

作家和艺术史学家
 

西萨·佩里, 1979-1982

建筑师
耶鲁大学建筑学院院长
 


矶崎新, 1979-1984

建筑师

评论家
 

J. 埃尔文·米勒1979-1984
康明斯工程公司执行委员会主席
建筑赞助人
 

菲利普·约翰逊 , 1981-1985
建筑师

1979 年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

小托马斯·约翰·沃森, 1982-1986

IBM 名誉主席
 

凯文·洛奇, 1983-1991

建筑师

1982 年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

乔瓦尼·阿涅利, 1984-2003

意大利菲亚特汽车集团主席
 

槙文彦, 1985-1988

建筑师

1993 年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

瑞卡多·雷可瑞塔, 1985-1993

建筑师
 

艾达·路易斯·哈斯特帕, 1987-2005

作家和建筑评论家
 

罗斯柴尔德爵士, 1987-2004 ( 2003-2004担任主席)

英国艺术博物馆馆长、董事会主席
 

中村敏夫, 1991-1999

日本《A+U》杂志前主编
 

弗兰克·盖里, 1993-1995, 2003-2006

建筑师

1989 年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

查尔斯·柯里亚, 1993-1998

建筑师
 

乔治·西维蒂, 1996-2004

建筑师、哈佛大学设计研究院建筑系主任
 

卡洛斯·希门尼斯, 2001-2011

建筑师
美国莱斯大学鲁思·卡特·史蒂芬森基金会主席
 

罗尔夫·费赫尔鲍姆, 2004-2010

维特拉(Vitra)公司董事会主席
 

凯伦·斯坦, 2004-2012
作家、编辑和建筑顾问
 

巴克里希纳·多西, 2005-2007

建筑师和规划师,建筑学教授
2018年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

维多利亚·纽豪斯, 2005-2008

建筑历史学家、作家
建筑历史基金会创始人及主席
 

帕伦博勋爵, 2005-2018 (2005-2016担任主席)

艺术及建筑资助人
蛇形画廊信托公司现任董事长
 

坂茂, 2006-2009

建筑师

建筑学教授

2014年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

伦佐·皮亚诺, 2006-2011

建筑师

1998年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

尤哈尼·帕拉斯马, 2009-2014

建筑师

 

亚历杭德罗·阿拉维纳, 2009-2015

建筑师和Elemental S.A.事务所执行董事
2016年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

格伦·马库特, 2011-2018 (2017-2018担任主席)

建筑师

2002年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

张永和, 2012-2017

建筑师和教育家
 

扎哈·哈迪德, 2012

建筑师

2004年普利兹克建筑奖获奖者
 

克里斯汀·费雷思, 2013-2017

建筑策展人、作家兼编辑
 

卡尔顿·史密斯, 1979-1984 (评委会秘书)

国际奖项基金会主席
 

阿瑟·德雷克斯勒, 1979-1986 (评委会顾问)

纽约现代艺术博物馆建筑与设计部主任
 

布伦达.吉尔, 1985-1987 (评委会秘书)
《纽约客》作者和评论家
 

斯图尔特·雷德, 1987-1988 (评委会代理顾问)

纽约现代艺术博物馆建筑与设计部代理主任
 

比尔. N·莱西Bill N. Lacy, 1988-2005 (常务理事)

纽约州立大学帕切斯建筑学院院长

Stephen Breyer, Chair

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer joined the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury in 2011 and serves as the current Chair.

Born in San Francisco in 1938, he graduated from Stanford, Oxford, and Harvard Law School.  Breyer completed his clerkship at the Supreme Court and later worked at the Justice Department’s anti-trust division, as an assistant special prosecutor in the Watergate Investigation, and as both special and chief counsel to the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee. In 1980 he was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and become Chief Judge in 1990. In 1994 Breyer was appointed a Supreme Court Justice by President Clinton.

Justice Breyer taught law for many years at Harvard Law School and at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. He has written books and articles about administrative law, economic regulation, and most recently authored Making Democracy Work; A Judge’s View, a book about the U.S. Constitution. Breyer has always had a special interest in architecture: he helped oversee the design and construction of the John Joseph Moakley United States Courthouse and Harbor Park in Boston and wrote the foreword to Celebrating the Courthouse: A Guide for Architects, Their Clients, and the Public.

André Aranha Corrêa do Lago

A Brazilian diplomat since 1983, André Corrêa do Lago is the current Brazilian Ambassador to Japan, and has previously held positions within the Brazilian Embassies in Madrid, Prague, Washington, D.C., Buenos Aires, and at the Brazilian Mission to the European Union, in Brussels.

He is also a recognized architectural critic and was the curator of the Brazilian Pavilion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture (2014), and the exhibition "Brazilian architecture seen by great photographers" at the Tomie Ohtake Institute, São Paulo (2013); and co-curator of "Encore moderne? Architecture brésilienne: 1928-2005" at the Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine, Paris (2005-2006).

Mr. Corrêa do Lago is a member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art, and a council member of the Oscar Niemeyer Foundation. Published works include Ainda moderno?: Arquitetura Brasileira Contemporânea, coauthored with Lauro Cavalcanti (2005); Oscar Niemeyer: Uma Arquitetura da Sedução. Bei Editora (2009); and Arquitetura Brasileira Vista por Grandes Fotógrafos (2014); and numerous articles in journals and online publications.

Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers — the 2007 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate — is a foremost advocate of architecture and urbanism that creates livable cities, improves the public realm, and cares for the environment. He founded his practice — Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners (formerly Richard Rogers Partnership) — in 1977 in London and has offices in Sydney and Shanghai. It is known for such pioneering buildings as the Centre Pompidou (with Renzo Piano), the headquarters for Lloyd’s of London, the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg, and the Millennium Dome in London.

The practice has designed major urban master planning schemes in London, Lisbon, Berlin, New York, and Shanghai. It is participating in the Greater Paris project, to look at the future of the city as it faces the social and environmental challenges of the 21st century.

Richard Rogers received the RIBA Gold Medal in 1985, the 1999 Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Medal, the 2000 Praemium Imperiale, and the 2006 Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement (at La Biennale di Venezia). He was awarded the Légion d’Honneur in 1986, knighted in 1991, made a life peer in 1996, and a Companion of Honour in 2008.

Kazuyo Sejima

Kazuyo Sejima, born in Ibaraki, Japan, received the 2010 Pritzker Architecture Prize alongside Ryue Nishizawa, both co-founders of Toyko-based SANAA, which opened in 1995. She is a professor at Polytechnic University of Milan; University of Applied Arts Vienna; Keio University, Tokyo; Yokohama Graduate School of Architecture Y-GSA; and a visiting professor at Japan Women's University, Tokyo.

Ms. Sejima was appointed as the Director of the 12th Venice Architecture Biennale in 2010, and was named Japan Institute of Architects’ Young Architect of the Year in Japan in 1992. She has taught at various institutions including Princeton University and Polytechnique de Lausanne. She opened Kazuyo Sejima & Associates in Tokyo in 1987, and joined the office of 2013 Pritzker Laureate Toyo Ito upon completing her architectural studies at Japan Woman’s University in 1981.

Her own works include House in Plum Grove (Tokyo) and Inujima Art House Project (Okayama). Notable works of SANAA consist of the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art (Kanazawa), the Rolex Learning Center (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), the Louvre-Lens, and Grace Farms (New Canaan).

Benedetta Tagliabue

Benedetta Tagliabue of Barcelona, Spain is director of the acclaimed international architecture firm EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, founded in 1994 in collaboration with Enric Miralles, based in Barcelona and, since 2010, in Shanghai. Among her most notable built projects are the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh, Diagonal Mar Park, and the Santa Caterina Market in Barcelona, Campus Universitario de Vigo, and the Spanish Pavilion at the 2010 Shanghai World Expo.

Tagliabue’s poetic architecture, always attentive to its context, has won international awards in the fields of public space and design, including the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2005, the National Spanish Prize in 2006, and the Catalan National Prize in 2002. Born in Italy, she studied architecture at the Istituto di Architettura di Venezia (IUAV). Benedetta Tagliabue teaches, lectures, and is the director of the Enric Miralles Foundation, whose goal is to promote experimental architecture in the spirit of her late husband and partner Enric Miralles.

Ratan N. Tata

Ratan N. Tata of Mumbai, India, is the Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata Group. He was Chairman from 1991 until his retirement in 2012. He was responsible for transforming Tata Sons into a group strategy think-tank, and a promoter of new ventures in high technology businesses. Tata serves on the board of directors of Alcoa and on the international advisory boards of Mitsubishi Corporation, JPMorgan Chase, Rolls-Royce, Temasek Holdings, and the Monetary Authority of Singapore. He serves on the board of trustees of the University of Southern California and Cornell University.

Tata received a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Cornell in 1962. He completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School in 1975. Tata is the Chairman of two of the largest philanthropic trusts in India and has received numerous international honors for his philanthropy. Through Tata Group’s Education and Development Trust, he established a $25 million endowment at Cornell to provide financial aid to undergraduates from India, with preference given to students in the College of Architecture, Art, and Planning, among others.

Wang Shu

Wang Shu – the 2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate – is Dean of the Architecture School at China Academy of Art, Hangzhou, and co-founder of the Amateur Architecture Studio, which he established with his partner and wife, Lu Wenyu, in 1997.

Mr. Wang’s works incorporate cultural traditions, craft skills and spontaneous elements throughout. This unique combination of traditional understanding, experimental building tactics and intensive research defines the basis for the Amateur Architecture Studio’s projects.

He was awarded the German Schelling Architecture Prize in 2010 together with Lu Wenyu, and the Gold Medal from the French Academy of Architecture in 2011.

Martha Thorne, Executive Director

Martha Thorne has been Executive Director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize since 2005. In that capacity she works closely with the jury; however, she does not vote in the proceedings. Currently she is Dean at IE School of Architecture in Madrid, Spain. She served as Associate Curator of the Department of Architecture at The Art Institute of Chicago from 1996 to 2005. She is the editor and author of several books, including The Pritzker Architecture Prize: The First Twenty Years, and author of numerous articles for architectural journals and encyclopedias. Ms. Thorne received a Master of City Planning degree from the University of Pennsylvania and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Urban Affairs from the State University of New York at Buffalo. She undertook additional studies at the London School of Economics.

Past Jury Members

J. Carter Brown, 1979-2002 (Chair)
Director, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

Lord Clark of Saltwood, 1979-1982
Author and Art Historian

Cesar Pelli, 1979-1982
Architect
Dean, School of Architecture, Yale University

Arata Isozaki, 1979-1984
Architect
Critic

J. Irwin Miller, 1979-1984
Chairman, Executive Committee, Cummins Engine Company, Inc.
Architectural Patron

Philip Johnson, 1981-1985
Architect
1979 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Thomas J. Watson Jr., 1982-1986
Chairman Emeritus, IBM Corporation

Kevin Roche, 1983-1991
Architect
1982 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Giovanni Agnelli, 1984-2003
Chairman, FIAT

Fumihiko Maki, 1985-1988
Architect
1993 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Ricardo Legorreta, 1985-1993
Architect

Ada Louise Huxtable, 1987-2005
Author and Critic

Lord Rothschild, 1987-2004 (Chair, 2003-2004)
Chairman, Board of Trustees, National Gallery of Great Britain

Toshio Nakamura, 1991-1999
Editor-in-chief, A+U

Frank O. Gehry, 1993-1995, 2003-2006
Architect
1989 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Charles Correa, 1993-1998
Architect

Jorge Silvetti, 1996-2004
Chairman, Department of Architecture,
   Harvard University, Graduate School of Design

Carlos Jiménez, 2001-2011
Architect
Ruth Carter Stevenson Chair, Rice University

Rolf Fehlbaum, 2004-2010
Chairman, Vitra

Karen Stein, 2004-2012
Writer, Editor, Critic

Balkrishna Doshi, 2005-2007
Architect and Planner
Professor of Architecture

Victoria Newhouse, 2005-2008
Architectural Historian and Author
Founder and Director of the Architectural History Foundation

Lord Peter Palumbo, 2005-2018 (Chair, 2005-2016)
Art and Architectural Patron
Chairman Emeritus of the Trustees of the Serpentine Gallery

Shigeru Ban, 2006-2009
Architect
Professor of Architecture

2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Renzo Piano, 2006-2011
Architect
1998 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Juhani Pallasmaa, 2009-2014
Architect

Alejandro Aravena, 2009-2015
Architect and Executive Director of EL­E­MEN­TAL S.A.
2016 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Glenn Murcutt, 2011-2018 (Chair, 2017-2018)
Architect
2002 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Yung Ho Chang, 2012-2017
Architect and Educator

Zaha Hadid, 2012
Architect
2004 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Kristin Feiress, 2013-2017
Architecture Curator, Writer and Editor

Carleton Smith, 1979-1984 (Secretary to the Jury)
Chairman, International Awards Foundation

Arthur Drexler, 1979-1986 (Consultant to the Jury)
Director, Architecture and Design,
   Museum of Modern Art New York

Brendan Gill, 1985-1987 (Secretary to the Jury)
Writer and Critic, The New Yorker

Stuart Wrede, 1987-1988 (Acting Consultant to the Jury)
Acting Director, Architecture and Design,
   Museum of Modern Art New York

Bill N. Lacy, 1988-2005 (Executive Director)
President, State University of New York at Purchase
Architect