Sponsored by The Hyatt Foundation


The independent jury of experts ranges from five to nine members. Jury members serve for multiple years to assure a balance between past and new members and are entrusted with selecting the laureate each year. No members of the Pritzker family or outside observers are present during jury deliberations which usually take place during the first months of the calendar year. The jury members are recognized professionals in their own fields of architecture, business, education, publishing, and culture.

2017 Jury Members

Glenn Murcutt, 2010-present (Chair)
Stephen Breyer, 2012-present
André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, 2017-present
Lord Peter Palumbo, 2005-present
Richard Rogers, 2015-present
Wang Shu, 2017-present
Benedetta Tagliabue, 2014-present
Ratan N. Tata, 2013-present

Martha Thorne, 2005-present (Executive Director)

Past Jury Members

J. Carter Brown, 1979-2002 (Chair)
Director, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

Lord Clark of Saltwood, 1979-1982
Author and Art Historian

Cesar Pelli, 1979-1982
Dean, School of Architecture, Yale University

Arata Isozaki, 1979-1984

J. Irwin Miller, 1979-1984
Chairman, Executive Committee, Cummins Engine Company, Inc.
Architectural Patron

Philip Johnson, 1981-1985
1979 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Thomas J. Watson Jr., 1982-1986
Chairman Emeritus, IBM Corporation

Kevin Roche, 1983-1991
1982 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Giovanni Agnelli, 1984-2003
Chairman, FIAT

Fumihiko Maki, 1985-1988
1993 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Ricardo Legorreta, 1985-1993

Ada Louise Huxtable, 1987-2005
Author and Critic

Lord Rothschild, 1987-2004 (Chair, 2003-2004)
Chairman, Board of Trustees, National Gallery of Great Britain

Toshio Nakamura, 1991-1999
Editor-in-chief, A+U

Frank O. Gehry, 1993-1995, 2003-2006
1989 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Charles Correa, 1993-1998

Jorge Silvetti, 1996-2004
Chairman, Department of Architecture,
   Harvard University, Graduate School of Design

Carlos Jiménez, 2001-2011
Ruth Carter Stevenson Chair, Rice University

Rolf Fehlbaum, 2004-2010
Chairman, Vitra

Karen Stein, 2004-2012
Writer, Editor, Critic

Balkrishna Doshi, 2005-2007
Architect and Planner
Professor of Architecture

Victoria Newhouse, 2005-2008
Architectural Historian and Author
Founder and Director of the Architectural History Foundation

Shigeru Ban, 2006-2009
Professor of Architecture

2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Renzo Piano, 2006-2011
1998 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Juhani Pallasmaa, 2009-2014

Alejandro Aravena, 2009-2015
Architect and Executive Director of EL­E­MEN­TAL S.A.

Yung Ho Chang, 2012-2017
Architect and Educator

Kristin Feiress, 2013-2017
Architecture Curator, Writer and Editor

Zaha Hadid, 2012
2004 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Carleton Smith, 1979-1984 (Secretary to the Jury)
Chairman, International Awards Foundation

Arthur Drexler, 1979-1986 (Consultant to the Jury)
Director, Architecture and Design,
   Museum of Modern Art New York

Brendan Gill, 1985-1987 (Secretary to the Jury)
Writer and Critic, The New Yorker

Stuart Wrede, 1987-1988 (Acting Consultant to the Jury)
Acting Director, Architecture and Design,
   Museum of Modern Art New York

Bill N. Lacy, 1988-2005 (Executive Director)
President, State University of New York at Purchase