Martha Thorne 2017 Laureates Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta Ceremony Speech

Your majesties, the Emperor and Empress of Japan; Deputy Prime Minister Taro Aso; Your excellencies ambassadors and ministers, Tom and Margot Pritzker and members of the Pritzker family, ladies and gentlemen.

On behalf of the Hyatt Foundation and as Executive Director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, it is an honor to welcome you to this, the celebration of the 2017 Award ceremony. To date, 42 laureates have received the prize in memorable ceremonies such as this. Tonight three more will become part of this outstanding community of architects.

Founded in 1979 through with the vision and generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Jay, the Prize continues its original mission to draw attention to the highest quality International architecture and to recognize the outstanding talent of architects from around the world who, through their built work, embody the art of architecture and make a significant contribution to humanity.

It is now my pleasure to invite the Chair of the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury, Architect Glenn Murcutt to the podium.

© The Hyatt Foundation / The Pritzker Architecture Prize

For more information, please contact:

Eunice Kim
Director of Communications
The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Tel: +1 240 401 5649

Email: eunicekim@pritzkerprize.com