Sponsored by The Hyatt Foundation

Press Release

The Hyatt Foundation Appoints New Jury Members for The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Chicago, IL (September 6, 2017) - The Pritzker Architecture Prize appoints two new jurors, architect and 2012 Laureate Wang Shu and André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, as the newest members of the distinguished Pritzker Prize Jury. The upcoming 2018 edition of the Pritzker Prize marks the 40th anniversary of the accolade, which has come to be known internationally as architecture’s highest honor.


Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation, comments, “As we approach the 40th anniversary of the Pritzker Prize, the addition of André Corrêa do Lago and Wang Shu continues to embody the international range reflected by both present and past Laureates and Jury. The contributions of both individuals to the field of architecture, from different vantage points, makes them ideal members of the jury.”

Born in Ürümqi, China, and based in Hangzhou, Mr. Wang’s works incorporate cultural traditions, craft skills and spontaneous elements throughout. The 2012 Pritzker Prize Jury wrote of his work that it is “exemplary in its strong sense of cultural continuity and re-invigorated tradition.”

Mr. Wang is Dean of the School of Architecture at China Academy of Art, Hangzhou, and co-founder of the Amateur Architecture Studio, which he established with his partner and wife, Lu Wenyu, in 1997. In 2011, he was the first Chinese Kenzo Tange Visiting Professor at Harvard Graduate School of Design in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Notable works of Amateur Architecture Studio include the Library of Wenzheng College, Suzhou University (2000); Five Scattered Houses, Ningbo (2005); Xiangshan Campus, China Academy of Art (Phase I and Phase II) Hangzhou (2004 and 2007); Ceramic House, Jinhua (2006); Vertical Courtyard Apartments, Hangzhou (2007); Ningbo History Museum, Ningbo (2008); the renovation of Wencun Village (2015) and Fuyang Cultural Complex, Fuyang near Hangzhou (2017).

“It is a great responsibility to serve on the jury,” states Mr. Wang. “I also hope to share my knowledge of China and the Asian context with them.”

Mr. Corrêa do Lago serves as the current Brazilian Ambassador to Japan and has previously held positions within the Brazilian Embassies in Madrid, Prague, Washington, D.C., Buenos Aires, and at the Brazilian Mission to the European Union, in Brussels. Since 2001, he has been a negotiator for sustainable development and energy and has lectured and written extensively on these issues.

Also a recognized architectural critic, he was the curator of the Brazilian Pavilion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture (2014), and the exhibition "Brazilian architecture seen by great photographers" at the Tomie Ohtake Institute, São Paulo (2013); and co-curator of "Encore moderne? Architecture brésilienne: 1928-2005" at the Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine, Paris (2005-2006).

He has written on Brazilian architecture and Oscar Niemeyer, including books: Ainda moderno?: Arquitetura Brasileira Contemporânea, coauthored with Lauro Cavalcanti (2005); Oscar Niemeyer: Uma Arquitetura da Sedução. Bei Editora (2009); and Arquitetura Brasileira Vista por Grandes Fotógrafos (2014); and numerous articles in journals and online publications.

“To form part of this prestigious and diverse committee is an honor and I am truly looking forward to working with all the jurors,” says Mr. Corrêa do Lago, who is also a member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art, a council member of the Oscar Niemeyer Foundation, and the Urbanism and Architecture Forum “Arqfuturo", and a member of the "Instituto de Urbanismo e Estudos para a Metrópole" (URBEM).  

Mr. Wang and Mr. Corrêa do Lago join chair Glenn Murcutt, architect and 2002 Pritzker Laureate, Sydney, Australia; Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Washington, D.C., USA; The Lord Palumbo, architectural patron, Chairman Emeritus of the Trustees, Serpentine Galleries, London, United Kingdom; Richard Rogers, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate, London, United Kingdom; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, Barcelona, Spain; and Ratan N. Tata, Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata Group, Mumbai, India. Martha Thorne, Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize and also Dean of IE School of Architecture and Design manages the open nominations process, which accepts suggestions from architects from all over the world.

Architect and educator Yung Ho Chang, and architecture curator, writer and editor Kristin Feireiss served on the Pritzker Prize Jury for 7 years and 6 years and have recently stepped down. Jurors serve a minimum three-year term, which allows for both change and stability in the decision-making process.

The 2018 Laureate will be announced in March, followed by the ceremony in the spring.


About the Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was founded in 1979 by the late Jay A. Pritzker and his wife, Cindy. Its purpose is to honor annually a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

Visit pritzkerprize.com for more information.

Use #pritzkerprize for social media.


© The Hyatt Foundation      

For more information, please contact: [email protected]