Sponsored by The Hyatt Foundation


The independent jury of experts ranges from five to nine members. Jury members serve for multiple years to assure a balance between past and new members and are entrusted with selecting the laureate each year. No members of the Pritzker family or outside observers are present during jury deliberations which usually take place during the first months of the calendar year. The jury members are recognized professionals in their own fields of architecture, business, education, publishing, and culture.

2016 Jury Members

Glenn Murcutt, 2010 to present; Chair, 2016 to present
Stephen Breyer, 2012 to present
Yung Ho Chang, 2012 to present
Kristin Feireiss, 2013 to present
Lord Peter Palumbo, 2005 to present; Chair, 2005 to 2016
Richard Rogers, 2015 to present
Benedetta Tagliabue, 2014 to present
Ratan N. Tata, 2013 to present

Martha Thorne, 2005 to present (Executive Director)

Past Jury Members

J. Carter Brown, 1979 to 2002 (Chair)
Director, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

Lord Clark of Saltwood, 1979 to 1982
Author and Art Historian

Cesar Pelli, 1979 to 1982
Dean, School of Architecture, Yale University

Arata Isozaki, 1979 to 1984

J. Irwin Miller, 1979 to 1984
Chairman, Executive Committee, Cummins Engine Company, Inc.
Architectural Patron

Philip Johnson, 1981 to 1985
1979 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Thomas J. Watson Jr., 1982 to 1986
Chairman Emeritus, IBM Corporation

Kevin Roche, 1983 to 1991
1982 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Giovanni Agnelli, 1984 to 2003
Chairman, Fiat

Fumihiko Maki, 1985 to 1988
1993 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Ricardo Legorreta, 1985 to 1993

Ada Louise Huxtable, 1987 to 2005
Author and Critic

Lord Rothschild, 1987 to 2004; Chair, 2003 to 2004
Chairman, Board of Trustees, National Gallery of Great Britain

Toshio Nakamura, 1991 to 1999
Editor-in-chief, A+U

Frank O. Gehry, 1993 to 1995, 2003 to 2006
1989 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Charles Correa, 1993 to 1998

Jorge Silvetti, 1996 to 2004
Chairman, Department of Architecture,
Harvard University, Graduate School of Design

Carlos Jiménez, 2001 to 2011

Rolf Fehlbaum, 2004 to 2010
Chairman, Vitra

Karen Stein, 2004 to 2012
Writer, Editor, Critic

Balkrishna Doshi, 2005 to 2007
Architect and Planner
Professor of Architecture

Victoria Newhouse, 2005 to 2008
Architectural Historian and Author
Founder and Director of the Architectural History Foundation

Shigeru Ban, 2006 to 2009
Professor of Architecture

2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Renzo Piano, 2006 to 2011
1998 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Juhani Pallasmaa, 2009 to 2014

Alejandro Aravena, 2009 to 2015
Architect and Executive Director of EL­E­MEN­TAL S.A.
2016 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Zaha Hadid, 2012
2004 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Carleton Smith, 1979 to 1984 (Secretary to the Jury)
Chairman, International Awards Foundation

Arthur Drexler, 1979 to 1986 (Consultant to the Jury)
Director, Architecture and Design,
Museum of Modern Art New York

Brendan Gill, 1985 to 1987 (Secretary to the Jury)
Writer and Critic, The New Yorker

Stuart Wrede, 1987 to 1988 (Acting Consultant to the Jury)
Acting Director, Architecture and Design,
Museum of Modern Art New York

Bill N. Lacy, 1988 to 2005 (Executive Director)
President, State University of New York at Purchase